Jazz announce summer league roster

Jazz announce summer league roster

SALT LAKE CITY (ABC 4 Sports) - Trey Burke, Rudy Gobert, and Alec Burkes headline the Jazz summer league team that will compete in Orlando starting July 7th.
SALT LAKE CITY (ABC 4 Sports) - The Utah Jazz today announced that Jazz players Alec Burks, Jeremy Evans, Jerel McNeal and Kevin Murphy will join 2013 draft picks Trey Burke and Rudy Gobert in headlining the team’s mini-camp in preparation for the 2013 Southwest Airlines Orlando Pro Summer League. Camp is scheduled to open Wednesday at RDV SportsPlex in Orlando, Fla., and will run through Saturday, July 6.

Michael Stockton, the son of Jazz legend John Stockton, is also on the team.

The six-day, 25-game Orlando Pro Summer League (OPSL) will also feature the Boston Celtics, Brooklyn Nets, Detroit Pistons, Houston Rockets, Indiana Pacers, Miami Heat, Oklahoma City Thunder, Orlando Magic and Philadelphia 76ers. Utah will play five games in the summer league, facing the Heat (7/7), Rockets (7/9), Nets (7/10), Pacers (7/11) and an opponent yet to be determined (7/12). The Jazz are not scheduled to play on July 8. The summer league is hosted by the Magic and will take place on the practice courts at Amway Center, the Magic’s home arena. Utah previously participated in the Orlando Pro Summer League in 2009 and 2010 when the event was held at RDV Sportsplex, and in 2012 at Amway Center. Summer League was not held in 2011.

A new format will be introduced this summer to the OPSL, with two extra teams and an extra day added to the slate. Under the new format, each team will play five games over the six-day event, with a championship day being played on the final day of the league. A point system will establish the standings leading up to the final day, with seven points awarded each game based on: three points for winning the game and one point for winning a quarter (in the event of a tied quarter, each team will receive 0.5 points). In the event of ties in seeding heading into championship day, three tiebreakers will be in place: 1) total point differential; 2) total points allowed; 3) coin flip.

Page: [[$index + 1]]
comments powered by Disqus