Utah Debate Commission formed

Published 02/26 2014 08:21PM

Updated 02/26 2014 08:25PM

SALT LAKE CITY, Utah (ABC 4 Utah) - The Utah Debate Commission is up and running. The commission will plan, host, produce, and televise debates among candidates for statewide and federal office.

The Utah Debate Commission will bring candidates of all registered political parties and voters together through televised debates. The debates will also be available to radio stations and will be streamed online. The debates will be hosted statewide at Utah’s Universities.

The Utah Debate Commission is governed by a board of directors. Board members include:

Renai Bodley, News Director, FOX13

Damon Cann, Co-Director, Institute of Politics, Utah State University

Morgan Cotti, Hinckley Institute of Politics

Jennifer Dahl, News Director, KUTV

Richard Davis, Professor of Political Science, BYU

Jay DeSart, Associate Professor of Political Science, Utah Valley University

Paul Edwards, Editor, Deseret News

Karen Hale, Community Engagement Director, Salt Lake City and Former Utah State Senator

Eric Kirby, Director, Leavitt Center for Politics and Public Service, Southern Utah University

Dan Liljenquist, Former Utah State Senator and Former Candidate for United States Senate

Carol McNamara, Director, Walker Institute of Politics and Public Service

Terry Orme, Editor, Salt Lake Tribune

George Severson, News Director, KTVX

Diena Simmons, Station Manager, KBYU

Karl Sun, CEO, Lucid Software

Tanya Vea, News Director, KSL

Ken Verdoia, Production Director, KUED

Copyright 2016 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.