State conventions: Dems elect new chair, GOP kind to incumbents

Published 04/26 2014 05:55PM

Updated 04/26 2014 06:18PM

SALT LAKE CITY, Utah (ABC 4 Utah) -- Utah Democrats elected a new party chair on Saturday while Republicans gave Mia Love another shot at the 4th Congressional District in 2014.

Both parties held their state conventions, which decided who would be moving on to the general elections in November.

The Republican convention was kind to its incumbents, electing Rob Bishop, Chris Stewart and Jason Chaffetz to fight for their seats in the 1st, 2nd and 3rd Congressional Districts, respectively. Mia Love, who narrowly lost to Democrat Jim Matheson for the 4th District seat in 2012, will run against Doug Owens, who was elected by the Democrats to run for Matheson's seat. Matheson will not run for re-election in 2014.

Former Salt Lake County Mayor Peter Corroon was elected as the Democrats' State Party Chair, replacing state Sen. Jim Dabakis, who resigned in March. Donna McAleer, Luz Robles and Brian Wannacot were elected to represent the party in the respective contests for the 1st, 2nd and 3rd congressional districts.

Copyright 2016 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.