New leadership for the LDS Church announced during global broadcast

Members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints from all around the world gathered Tuesday to find out who will be leading their church.

The announcement was made by Elder D. Todd Christofferson of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles at 9 a.m.  The message was made available online in over 20 languages.

Elder Christofferson announced the following changes:

President: Russell M. Nelson
First Counselor: Dallin H. Oaks
Second Counselor: Henry B. Eyring
President of the Quorum of the Twelve: M. Russell Ballard


Following the death of a prophet, the First Presidency of the Church is dissolved and top LDS leaders are reorganized. Traditionally, the longest serving apostle becomes the new prophet.

You can find more on the process the Church takes following the passing of their president here.

VIDEO: The First Presidency addresses the media

GALLERY: New leaders of the LDS Church announced

More Stories

Trending Stories

Latest News

Video Center