Tuesday night the SWAT team went to a home in Sandy off 107th South to arrest 31 year old Derek Ouimet and 33 year old Jeremy Hiatt for possession of meth, but when police looked in the basement they found a moonshine making machine.
In Utah it is illegal to manufacture a distilled alcoholic beverage in an unlicensed premise.
ABC 4 News spoke to one alcohol enthusiast who makes his own flavored moonshine, but would actually like to distill the alcohol that goes into his drink himself. He didn’t want to go on camera but explained, “What I do is I just use grain alcohol that you buy in the liquor store and use that to make it.”
He calls it Apple Pie Moonshine. It’s complete with apples and cinnamon sticks and says everyone he gives it to loves it, but because of Utah’s liquor laws he can’t make it to share with others.
“There are still prohibition laws on the books. They’re very heavy-handed with distilling your own stuff. It’s a very dangerous thing and I’m not willing to go into.”
He explained to ABC 4 that he’s looked into what it takes to get a distillery license, but in Utah he says it’s virtually impossible. “There’s a lot of ambiguity depending on who you speak with. You’ll hear different things. The process for being able to distribute are very unclear and very expensive. There are a lot of legal issues involved. It’s nearly impossible to navigate without a lawyer and very deep pockets.”